jump to navigation

Questions about mental health. July 14, 2010

Posted by Ruth in Having Fun with Disfunctionality, mental illness.
Tags: , , , , , , , , ,
trackback

Just some general questions about mental health. If anybody has any answers to these questions, please let me know.
  
Could someone ever get addicted to counseling? answer: YES – Joan Wheeler is.
If so, how could you treat them?
How can there be “self help GROUPS”?
If someone with multiple personalities threatens to kill herself, is it considered a hostage situation?
If you have an open mind why don’t your brains fall out?

How would someone with mental instablilities possibly think they could be a social worker or a counselor and help other people with their problems, when they can’t even help themselves? Can someone who is deep in “poverty” and can’t get out of poverty (like Joan) advise their clients who are depressed over their financial problems?

Why would anyone accept social help or counseling from someone who is an admitted suicide risk? Would they recommend suicide to their clients?

How can someone who is suffering from clinical depression help someone else out of their depression?

How can someone who can’t get their own original birth certificate be a self-confessed “expert” on getting birth certificates for other people?

1. Gert – July 14, 2010 [Edit]

Good points, Ruth,

I have often wondered what would happen if the ancients ever came back, to this time period. What would they find?

Did the ancients need ‘self-help’ groups? Did they have time to worry so much about nothingness? I don’t think so, they had no need nor time for all that talk. They were too busy finding food and surviving. Perhaps if more people did less talk about there troubles, real and in their heads, there wouldn’t be so much garbage flowing around, not just on the planet up in orbit around it! Perhaps if people just got down to learning how to live, go out and grow a flower or a vegetable, and look how to see a sunset or something, instead of needing to talk to others ‘like myself’.

In my town there is a whole page of the Sunday newspaper loaded with all the self-help groups. I feel left out! there is not one that I need!

Reply
2. RuthJuly 14, 2010 [Edit]

When I was first writing this post, I was laughing my ass off. Because some of it is funny. But then later on, I was getting some coffee, and started thinking, it’s really not funny at all.
Joan admits she is a suicide risk. Then touts her “social work” degree.
‘scuse me, if I would need help for depression, Joan is one social worker I would run the f*ck away from!
But the public is safe – Joan refuses to get a job anyway.

Gert – July 14, 2010 [Edit]

That’s right, its not funny, its a damn shame.
And for all the years of education that Joan has had, in social work, she ought to have gotten serious help and probably not from those professions that makes loads of $$ from sick people.

Joan can’t help herself let alone anyone else. Her book will not help anyone either, because it is full of the illnesses that are in Joan’s head.

But I still find these questions very funny.
If someone with multiple personalities threatens to kill herself, is it considered a hostage situation?
If you have an open mind why don’t your brains fall out?         interesting isn’t it?

Comments

1. Gert - July 14, 2010

Good points, Ruth,

I have often wondered what would happen if the ancients ever came back, to this time period. What would they find?

Did the ancients need ‘self-help’ groups? Did they have time to worry so much about nothingness? I don’t think so, they had no need nor time for all that talk. They were too busy finding food and surviving. Perhaps if more people did less talk about there troubles, real and in their heads, there wouldn’t be so much garbage flowing around, not just on the planet up in orbit around it! Perhaps if people just got down to learning how to live, go out and grow a flower or a vegetable, and look how to see a sunset or something, instead of needing to talk to others ‘like myself’.

In my town there is a whole page of the Sunday newspaper loaded with all the self-help groups. I feel left out! there is not one that I need!

2. Ruth - July 14, 2010

When I was first writing this post, I was laughing my ass off. Because some of it is funny. But then later on, I was getting some coffee, and started thinking, it’s really not funny at all.
Joan admits she is a suicide risk. Then touts her “social work” degree.
‘scuse me, if I would need help for depression, Joan is one social worker I would run the f away from!
But the public is safe – Joan refuses to get a job anyway.

3. Gert - July 14, 2010

That’s right, its not funny, its a damn shame.
And for all the years of education that Joan has had, in social work, she ought to have gotten serious help and probably not from those professions that makes loads of $$ from sick people.

Joan can’t help herself let alone anyone else. Her book will not help anyone either, because it is full of the illnesses that are in Joan’s head.

But I still find these questions very funny.
If someone with multiple personalities threatens to kill herself, is it considered a hostage situation?
If you have an open mind why don’t your brains fall out?

interesting isn’t it?


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

