jump to navigation

a revised (slightly) version of my poem about Isabella August 29, 2012

Posted by Ruth in Dreams, Inconsistent Angel Things.
trackback

In my post candle light vigil for a little girl held in Cheektowaga, Tuesday night, August 28, 2012 – a report on the vigil I attended for the 5 year old girl beaten to death by a 16 year old punk, I included a poem I wrote. I want to change my poem a little bit here’s the original:

Isabella, Isabella, an angel now you are. I’ve given you a magical unicorn to take you near and far.

Chocolate chip cookies will be your daily fare with stardust and fairydust trailing from your hair.  

Up in heaven you now live, to be with you, all that Crystal has, she would give.

It was Bella’s time you see, A lesson to be learned by our whole community.  

Children are killing children, by guns, by hands. Reverence for Life is what we all must understand.

Okay, here is my revision, and I think the cadence is a bit better.

 

Isabella, Isabella, an angel now you are. I’ve given you a magic unicorn to take you near and far.

Chocolate chip cookies will be your daily fare with stardust and fairydust trailing from your hair.  

Up in heaven you now live, to be with you, all that Crystal has, she would gladly give.

It was Bella’s time you see, A lesson to be learned by our whole community.  

Children are killing children, by guns, by hands. Reverence for Life is what we all must now understand.

