jump to navigation

candle light vigil for a little girl held in Cheektowaga, Tuesday night, August 28, 2012 August 29, 2012

Posted by Ruth in Dreams, Inconsistent Angel Things.
trackback

tonight, Tuesday, August 27, I took part of sad gathering – a candlelight vigil for a 5 year old girl who was beaten to death by a 16 year old with his bare hands. Then he called a friend to help dispose of the body in a damn garbage can. – I stopped at Dollar General and bought a candle – chocolate chip scented. And I found a little ceramic angel and a little stuffed unicorn that I placed on the table that had pictures of her. What a sweet little child. No, I never met this little girl, Isabella. I never met her mother Crystal. But I am so outraged at the evil. And as a mother who lost her child (thru miscarriage in 1985) – I am a sister-in-grief to Crystal.

After everyone had a chance to sign a remembrance book and get their candles ready – we all lit our candles at exactly 10pm. Crystal wasn’t there, nor was she at the larger vigil that was held in the city of Niagara Falls (where Isabella’s young life was snuffed out) on Monday night. Other family members were there. Prayers were said, Amazing Grace was sung. Then several paper Chinese lanterns were lit and they soared up into the sky, crossing in front of the near full moon. I was struck by the beauty of it. Local television stations were there, WIVB, Channel 4 carried live for their 10pm news. I wasn’t near any of the reporters, so I don’t know what was said. I’ll see it tomorrow either on tv or on Ch 4’s website or their facebook page. – I left a couple of announcements about the vigil on my twitter – @ruthsippelpace and facebook –http://facebook.com/RuthSippelPace

Isabella, Isabella, an angel now you are. I’ve given you a magical unicorn to take you near and far. Chocolate chip cookies will be your daily fare with stardust and fairydust trailing from your hair.

Up in heaven you now live, to be with you, all that Crystal has, she would give. It was Bella’s time you see, A lesson to be learned by our whole community.

Children are killing children, by guns, by hands. Reverence for Life is what we all must understand.

I’ve revised (slightly) my poem. Here it is:

Isabella, Isabella, an angel now you are.
I’ve given you a magic unicorn to take you near and far.
Chocolate chip cookies will be your daily fare
with stardust and fairydust trailing from your hair.

Up in heaven you now live,
to be with you, all that Crystal has, she would gladly give.
It was Bella’s time you see,
A lesson to be learned by our whole community.

Children are killing children, by guns, by hands.
Reverence for Life is what we all must now understand.

Comments

1. a revised (slightly) version of my poem about Isabella « Refuting a Book of Lies: Forbidden Family – - August 29, 2012

[…] my post candle light vigil for a little girl held in Cheektowaga, Tuesday night, August 28, 2012 – a report on the vigil I attended for the 5 year old girl beaten to death by a 16 year old punk, […]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

