jump to navigation

The internet, social media and Twitter newsfeed and people getting all bent out of shape over nothing. geez! November 23, 2012

Posted by Ruth in Announcements and updates, Lessons in Life.
trackback

Social media sites are a wonderful way for people to stay in touch with each other. You got a cousin or old school friend who lives thousands of miles away? – You can stay in touch via facebook, twitter and other sites. You like a certain celebrity? Become “friends” with them on facebook or follow them on Twitter. It’s like the ultimate fan-groupie high!

I am a multi-faceted person with many interests and am passionate about them. I like belly dancing, art, writing. I like learning about herbs and natural healing. I like learning about crystals. I like science-fiction and fantasy and have studied metaphysics for 44 years. I learned all about paranormal investigating (ghost hunting) way back in 1982 – 32 years before Jason Hawes and Grant Wilson got on Sci-Fi channel with their popular “Ghost Hunters” series. I’ve had several paranormal experiences in the 1970’s and 1980’s and into the early 90’s. Since September 2010, I’ve been involved in a local “ghost hunting” group.

I have about 150 friends on my facebook and I follow 120 people on twitter. I also have 13 followers on twitter. On both my facebook and twitter, I have several of the cast members of the following TV paranormal shows: Ghost Hunters, Ghost Hunters International, Ghost Adventurers. As a long time Star Trek fan, I also have several of the actors, a couple of the writers and producers of Star Trek on both my facebook and twitter. I have other celebrities as well, including Lucy Lawless (Xena), Kevin Sorbo (Hercules), Gary Graham (Alien Nation and Star Trek Enterprise) and Mark Hamill – Luke Skywalker of Star Wars.

I also follow some singers: k.d. lang, Barry Gibb, Peter Tork on facebook. On my blog account, I follow the blog of Sam (Samantha) Sorbo, Kevin’s wife.

Do I communicate with all these people? Yes. Some of the celebrities are there because they are celebrities. (uh, duh!) And in my communicating with some, I have become “pen-pals” with them. One actor, who is an Orchard Park New York (a suburb of Buffalo) native, was on Star Trek Deep Space Nine and other movies, is my fb buddy because I took care of his father when he was a patient of mine where I worked.

One of the cast members of Ghost Hunters is a rabid Buffalo Bills and science fiction fan. Brian and I have had many conversations in the past 4 years. And thru him, I have become a buddy of his wife (now ex) Michelle. Michelle and I have also had many conversations in the past 4 years.

Now many of these people have an extensive fan-base. William Shatner, Capt. Kirk of Star Trek has a LOT of fans. George Takei, Sulu of Star Trek just posted on facebook that he has three million fans on fb and twitter. – That’s a lot of tweets and fb messages!

Facebook and Twitter has a function called “newsfeed” that shows YOU what your buddies have been up to.

I’m going to use Twitter as an example. Let’s say I tweet to William Shatner. Then an hour later my sister Gert gets on twitter. She will see what I tweeted to Capt. Kirk. If Shat responds to me, Gert will see his tweet. On the converse, because I follow Mark Hamill, I was able to see his daughter Chelsea’s tweet to him to have a Happy Thanksgiving. AND if I tweet to Mark Hamill, MY tweet will show up on CHELSEA’S newsfeed.

I don’t know Chelsea. Never met her. Never heard of her. Mark pretty much keeps his family private. I do remember back in he 80’s reading an article in Starlog magazine that as a father, he got a kick out of seeing his own 4 year old son playing with an action figure of himself (as Luke Skywalker).

So, am I “stalking” Chelsea if her tweets show up on my newsfeed? Hell no. I can’t control how twitter or facebook works. I have a twitter buddy that I follow – Daniel. Daniel is an adoptee who has interesting things to say. He must think I have interesting things to say because he follows me. Daniel’s tweets to others show up on my newsfeed. I don’t recognize the names of those he’s tweeting to. I don’t know if they are adoptees or others that he converses with. Am I stalking them? NO – they are showing up on my newsfeed thru no control of mine. I may skim thru them. And may join in the conversation. – that’s how Brian Harnois’ wife Michelle became my buddy.

That is how these social media sites work. I have a conversation with someone, someone else sees it, posts to the conversation. If that person and I hit it off, we become “friends” – or we don’t.

And let’s not forget that this is all PUBLIC. What you write on the internet is seen by not just a few people – but MILLIONS of people. It isn’t called the World Wide Web (www) for nothing! If you don’t want your private business to be read by someone, THEN DON’T WRITE ABOUT IT!

Case in point: someone this morning accused Gert and me of stalking her twitter account. We responded to a post she made. (not on Twitter). She used a screen name. We don’t know her real name. Gert said the other day, she THINKS she knows who the person is. But suspecting someone’s real name and actually knowing it are two different things.

This person then started ranting that her daughter’s school was in lock-down. WELL  I was sleeping this morning, went to bed at 8:10 am, after working 12 hours overnight. I woke up a little after 12 noon. Sorry, I had nothing to do with her daughter’s school being locked down. – I was busy snoring away!  —  I didn’t really read this person’s comments, just heard about it via email when I woke up. I’m not sure if this person thinks I did something to cause her child’s school to be locked down or was she just getting carried away with her keyboard. – There was just too much DRAMA there for me – especially since I had just woken up after only 4 hours sleep.  And because there’s too much DRAMA and stuff that doesn’t concern me – I’m not even going to read all that stuff. Anyway, if she wasn’t accusing me or Gert of causing the lockdown – WHY IS SHE WRITING ABOUT IT? Especially in a post wherein she accuses us of stalking her!

I’m not interested in this person’s daughter’s school, nor is Gert. We were not talking about this person’s daughter OR her school – we were talking about the lies contained in Joan Wheeler’s book!

I don’t know this person, as of this morning, I didn’t know she HAD a daughter, didn’t know she was school-aged, didn’t know her school was in lockdown. – I was not talking about her daughter. SO WHY DID THIS PERSON TELL ME ABOUT HER DAUGHTER AND HER SCHOOL? It had NOTHING to do with the topic at hand: the lies about me contained in Joan Wheeler’s book.

geez! some people! Think they are twitter cops, divulge personal information about their daughter, and themeselves and get their knickers in a knot because people are reading what they wrote. If that person didn’t want me to know they have a daughter, she sure did a good job keeping that information away from me. IF YA DIDN’T WANT ME TO KNOW ABOUT YOUR DAUGHTER YA SHOULD’VE KEPT YOUR MOUTH SHUT.

roflamo!

1. Ruth

I see by my statistics here that my link to the Drama button has been accessed. Good – hope you liked that little ditty to accompnay your drama. sigh, honey, chill out, don’t stroke out.

1. Paula

Now I know someone accused you of stalking her AND she has a daughter. I must be stalker her stalking you stalking her. Hehe!

3. Ruth

Drama button: http://www.dramabutton.com/

5. withoutorigin – November 24, 2012 [Edit]

Gert didn’t appear on twitter by chance, she actively ‘followed’ which is not by chance. I don’t know what she was looking for but hey, if you want to know when the kids’s school xmas fair is or that soccer practice is cancelled . . . v.strange behavior from someone who simpy didn’t like my book review.

 

Gert here…update…Nov 26…I made a whole new post in answer to this last comment…

please see this post for further updates….

 

Comments

1. Paula - November 23, 2012

Now I know someone accused you of stalking her AND she has a daughter. I must be stalker her stalking you stalking her. Hehe!

2. Ruth - November 23, 2012

I see by my statistics here that my link to the Drama button has been accessed. Good – hope you liked that little ditty to accompnay your drama.
sigh, honey, chill out, don’t stroke out.

3. Ruth - November 23, 2012
4. chill out, don’t stroke out – my new blog post about twitter cops and drama queens « Reclaiming the Sippel-Herr Family Honor - November 23, 2012

[…] The internet, social media and Twitter newsfeed and people getting all bent out of shape over nothin… […]

5. withoutorigin - November 24, 2012

Gert didn’t appear on twitter by chance, she actively ‘followed’ which is not by chance. I don’t know what she was looking for but hey, if you want to know when the kids’s school xmas fair is or that soccer practice is cancelled . . . v.strange behavior from someone who simpy didn’t like my book review.

6. People who put out too much personal information on the public internet and then bitch when people see it – dey be LOSERS! « Refuting a Book of Lies: Forbidden Family – - November 24, 2012

[…] – Which had WHAT  to do with discussing Joan Wheeler’s book? So I wrote a blog post:  The internet, social media and Twitter newsfeed and people getting all bent out of shape over nothin… […]


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

