jump to navigation

writing memoirs and taking the consequences July 12, 2013

Posted by Ruth in Joan Wheeler's abuse and harassment of her birth family, Lessons in Life, Refuting Joan Wheelers statements.
trackback

the following link is to a blogpost that Gert found, commented on, and shared with me. I shared the following on my facebook and share it here.

http://memoriesandmemoirs.com/2013/07/will-my-family-get-angry-about-my-memoir/

a discussion about someone writing and considering publishing a memoir.

I submitted the following comment. It is still awaiting moderation. But here it is for you – it’s good advice for all writers. –

Something else to consider:  If your “memoir” contains slander and/or libel – be prepared to suffer the consequences of your actions.  I am the sister of Gert McQueen, and we were both mentioned in a book that was first touted as a “truthful autobiography” then when the lies that were in the book were brought out and refuted on my blog, the author (sadly our younger sister) changed her tune and said it was her “memoir” – trying to give herself the out that her memory was faulty.  Which was just another outrageous lie.  My blog – https://ruthsippelpace.wordpress.com/ – contains actual city court documents, handwritten letters from my younger sister that proved what she wrote in her “memoir” was libelous.  Those documents were sent to the publisher and the book was pulled from publication and will never be reprinted.  Also – don’t publish any photos unless you have written permission from ALL persons in the photo. Just because you “own” a copy of a family group photo – it is not necessarily “yours.” My picture was plastered on the back of my sister’s “memoir” without my permission. And the publisher took that in consideration, along with the court documents and hence killed the book.  My sister wasted 30 years of her life, writing a trashy “expose” as a vehicle to get back at anyone in her life she was angry at – and I was her biggest target.  The consequences she has suffered is a wasted life, her reputation in the adoption reform field is trashed, members of both her adoptive and birth family want nothing to do with her.  All she ever wanted from the age of 16 was to be with her birth family. She was reunited with us when she was 18, and now that she is 57 – she does not have us – due to her own actions and her “memoir.”

1. RuthJuly 12, 2013

regarding the use of my photograph – Joan Wheeler tries to use the ridiculous claim that the picture was blurred – no it was not – my father’s face is clearly visible. And so was mine. At the time of publication – 2009, there were still 4 living persons in the photo – myself, my two older sisters, and my father. And Joan did not get written permission from any of us to use our picture for monetary gain. One of the articles of the contract that she signed with Trafford Publications said “You hereby state that you are the sole copyright owner of the work and all its contents.” Since she did not have the sole copyright of a family photograph that was taken the year before she was born and a legal (in the eyes of United States law) entity and being, she did NOT have copyright ownership of that photo. And was in violation of the contract that she signed. The contract that she signed also stated that the contents of the non-fiction manuscript she submitted for publication did not contain any falsehoods. She stated that she had a one year order of protection against me in 1993. Then she said in 1994 we were involved in a three month court battle and she got another one year order of protection against me. She stated in the book that I have an arrest record. I submitted proof to Trafford, via court documents that: the order of protection in 1993 was for six months. we were never in court in 1994 The “three months court battle” occurred in 1995 when I filed charges of harassment against Joan and the three times we were in court were 1. Joan’s arraignment in March 1995. 2. First appearance in April 1995 – adjourned to a later date. 3. The later date of May 1995, where the judge dismissed my charges saying “sisters should get along.” Each time we were in front of the judge for about 10-15 minutes. Less than an hour total time. So much for a “three month court battle.” Those court documents were sent to Trafford and their legal department determined that Joan did indeed LIE in her book and when she signed the contract, she did so under false pretenses. She has no one to blame but herself for the death of her precious book.

2. RuthJuly 12, 2013

as for the three month court battle – and Joan’s penchant for exaggeration – I filed harassment and stalking charges against her on January 24, 2013 for her crap writing a letter to my job in November 2012 with a false accusation of me committing computer fraud. Which I was investigated for and found innocent. Even had a meeting on January 4 where I was told of the letter and their findings. – Then on January 23, Joan gets on the internet and brags that it was she who sent the anonymous letter. I made a screenshot of her admission and filed charges against her. We have been delayed a few times – we are scheduled to appear again on July 23, 2013. So that makes six months now – between the time I first filed, and we’ve been in court and it’s gotten adjourned a few times – I suppose Joan is now saying we’ve been involved in a six month court battle. See, this is what she does – she tells people things in a slanted way – slanted to make it sound as though she does no wrong – and that I, Ruth am “bitch supreme” and asshole. And her stupid idiot friends believe her sweet-talking. Anybody who doesn’t believe an actual court document is the real asshole.

Comments

1. Ruth - July 12, 2013

regarding the use of my photograph – Joan Wheeler tries to use the ridiculous claim that the picture was blurred – no it was not – my father’s face is clearly visible. And so was mine. At the time of publication – 2009, there were still 4 living persons in the photo – myself, my two older sisters, and my father. And Joan did not get written permission from any of us to use our picture for monetary gain.
One of the articles of the contract that she signed with Trafford Publications said “You hereby state that you are the sole copyright owner of the work and all its contents.” Since she did have the sole copyright of a family photograph that was taken the year before she was born and a legal (in the eyes of United States law) entity and being, she did NOT have copyright ownership of that photo. And was in violation of the contract that she signed.
The contract that she signed also stated that the contents of the non-fiction manuscript she submitted for publication did not contain any falsehoods.
She stated that she had a one year order of protection against me in 1993. Then she said in 1994 we were involved in a three month court battle and she got another one year order of protection against me. She stated in the book that I have an arrest record.
I submitted proof to Trafford, via court documents that:
the order of protection in 1993 was for six months.
we were never in court in 1994
The “three months court battle” occurred in 1995 when I filed charges of harassment against Joan and the three times we were in court were 1. Joan’s arraignment in March 1995. 2. First appearance in April 1995 – adjourned to a later date. 3. The later date of May 1995, where the judge dismissed my charges saying “sisters should get along.” Each time we were in front of the judge for about 10-15 minutes. Less than an hour total time. So much for a “three month court battle.”
Those court documents were sent to Trafford and their legal department determined that Joan did indeed LIE in her book and when she signed the contract, she did so under false pretenses. She has no one to blame but herself for the death of her precious book.

2. Ruth - July 12, 2013

as for the three month court battle – and Joan’s penchant for exaggeration – I filed harassment and stalking charges against her on January 24, 2013 for her crap writing a letter to my job in November 2012 with a false accusation of me committing computer fraud. Which I was investigated for and found innocent. Even had a meeting on January 4 where I was told of the letter and their findings. – Then on January 23, Joan gets on the internet and brags that it was she who sent the anonymous letter. I made a screenshot of her admission and filed charges against her.
We have been delayed a few times – we are scheduled to appear again on July 23, 2013.
So that makes six months now – between the time I first filed, and we’ve been in court and it’s gotten adjourned a few times – I suppose Joan is now saying we’ve been involved in a six month court battle.
See, this is what she does – she tells people things in a slanted way – slanted to make it sound as though she does no wrong – and that I, Ruth am “bitch supreme” and asshole.
And her stupid idiot friends believe her sweet-talking. Anybody who doesn’t believe an actual court document is the real asshole.

3. gertmcqueen - July 12, 2013

Sorry comments are closed for this entry

