jump to navigation

Joan Wheeler and other angry adoptees – get your priorities straight. January 18, 2014

Posted by Ruth in Lessons in Life.
Tags: ,
trackback

I follow actor Daniel Goddard (of Young and the Restless) on facebook and he posted this picture and said: “As sad, and as emotionally disturbing as some pictures are… Sometimes, they must be shared so that the people of the world can see the truth that is the lives of so many…”

hands

I left the following comment on his thread: ” Mother Theresa was asked once about where to start in caring, because there are so many that need it. She said to start with one. I can’t help those that are like in this picture. But I do what I can – outside of working as a nurse’s aide for my career, I donate blood when I can. I donate unwanted household goods to AmVets thrift store to help out our country’s veterans. Even if all you can do is donate a dollar or one canned food item during a food drive for your community’s hungry, do it.”

You know, if the child whose hand is pictured here is an orphan and if the necessity was there and the opportunity was there for me, I would take that child into my home to nourish and raise. And yes, I WOULD ADOPT HIM OR HER.

I get that adoptees want truthful documentation of their background. I get that some were adopted into abusive homes and they suffered and they are angry about that. What I don’t get is the “angry adoptees” wish to abolish the institution of adoption all together. WHY? Because THEY had a bad experience in adoption, so they would sentence an orphaned and starving child to nothingness when someone is willing to nourish and love that child, raise them and give them a good home and education.

If you follow the il-logic of angry adoptees, the child whose hand this is, should be left to wither and die in hunger, pain, and loneliness.

Joan Wheeler and all the rest of you angry adoptees – take your damn “me, me, me, woe is me because I was adopted” bullshit and shove it!

gertmcqueenJanuary 18, 2014 [Edit]

Gert here…very well put! Each of us is here with a life for a purpose and to learn a lesson. Ok there are times when I’ve ponder those two thoughts and came up empty…that’s human nature.

I’ve gotten my angry up over injustices in the world, I worked ‘with boots on the ground’ mentality and I worked endlessly with compassion, dedication, blood, sweat and tears. And…the institution I fought against are STILL STANDING. My time is NOT NOW. So I retired and GOT ON WITH MY LIFE.

I spend 23 years, in a paying job, to support our country’s veterans and active duty soldiers. I have volunteered in several community based charities. I currently volunteer with Hospice.

All it takes is for an angry person to LOOK AT THOSE LESS FORTUNATE THAN THYSELF. And the sooner one does that the better…for YOUR life is NOT ENDLESS. You too shall get sick and die.

Comments

1. gertmcqueen - January 18, 2014

Gert here…very well put!
Each of us is here with a life for a purpose and to learn a lesson.
Ok there are times when I’ve ponder those two thoughts and came up empty…that’s human nature.

I’ve gotten my angry up over injustices in the world, I worked ‘with boots on the ground’ mentality and I worked endlessly with compassion, dedication, blood, sweat and tears. And…the institution I fought against are STILL STANDING. My time is NOT NOW. So I retired and GOT ON WITH MY LIFE.

I spend 23 years, in a paying job, to support our country’s veterans and active duty soldiers. I have volunteered in several community based charities. I currently volunteer with Hospice.

All it takes is for an angry person to LOOK AT THOSE LESS FORTUNATE THAN THYSELF. And the sooner one does that the better…for YOUR life is NOT ENDLESS. You too shall get sick and die.


Sorry comments are closed for this entry

