jump to navigation

off blog topic – a Tribute to Leonard Nimoy February 27, 2016

Posted by Ruth in Dreams, Inconsistent Angel Things.
trackback

LN 01

It is one year since Leonard Nimoy has passed away. It is so hard to believe that he is not with us anymore. My loss is from a fan’s point of view. My personal life goes on, pretty much unaffected. His family and friends, of course have a different loss. And I extend my good wishes to them.

Now everyone knows I have a raging fantasy crush on the fictional character Mr. Spock. But I have also always had a deep admiration for the man behind the ears, Leonard Nimoy. Since August 1966, when I first saw a commercial for “the new and exciting science fiction show, Star Trek, coming this fall on NBC,” and I saw Mr. Spock – my heart just went pitter-patter.

As the show’s episodes aired, and we viewers saw more of Mr. Spock, and the man Leonard Nimoy became known to the public, I was hopelessly and still am, in “crush” with the two. I have no answers as to how and why a 14 year old girl falls in “love” with a fictional character that isn’t even alive.

After Star Trek, Mr. Nimoy joined the TV show Mission Impossible, and then started to do some movies: Catlow, Baffled, Assault on the Wayne, and others. In the early 70’s his hobbies came to the fore, with him publishing his photographs and poetry. He wrote a one-man play “Vincent,” about the life of artist Vincent van Gogh. Also in the 70’s, he hosted a syndicated show called “In Search Of,” about unexplained phenomena. He also did regional theatre, playing Tevye in Fiddler on the Roof, and King Arthur in Camelot.

In the 70’s I became a member of his official fan club, The Leonard Nimoy Association of Fans, and through the club, I purchased a few of his photographs that he matted and signed for us fans. Those and his books of poetry are among my most treasured possessions.

I was fortunate to meet and speak with him a few times. He was always so warm and gracious. The last time was May 19, 2003, when he was doing a book tour of his book Shekhina. My late friend, Michelene Biber and I, ran a small Star Trek discussion group, The USS Ari, at the time, and we presented Mr. Nimoy with a “Friends of the Ari” certificate that Michelle put together. He got a kick out of it.

Leonard Nimoy was much more than Mr. Spock of Star Trek. He was an actor, a photographer, a poet, a writer, a musician, a singer, he directed and produced some movies. He was also a deeply spiritual man.

When I spoke to him in May 2003 I told him how much I admired the quote he chose as the foreword to his Shekhina book. He said (paraphrase) “Isn’t that the most profound and beautiful thing you ever heard?”

That quote is: “We are not human beings having a spiritual experience. We are spiritual beings having a human experience,” by Pierre Teilhard de Chardin.

 Mr. Nimoy left us a year ago today to continue a new phase of his spiritual journey. Godspeed Mr. Nimoy.

–Ruth Pace, February 27, 2016

 .

